The Music City Film Critics’ Association shared the winners of the MCFCA 2020 Film Awards this week. The association is comprised of more than 30 professional film critics working in or near Nashville, Tenn.

The Trial of the Chicago 7 won three awards, giving them the most of any film, but Promising Young Woman was the big winner taking two of the top four awards, including Best Picture.

Each year the MCFCA gives out The Jim Ridley Award. It is a special award named after one of Nashville’s most beloved film critics, who died at age 50 in 2016. It is given to the film or the person that best represents Nashville and Tennessee. This year’s recipient is composer William Tyler who wrote the score for First Cow, one of the MCFCA’s Best Picture nominees.

The MCFCA members vote via secret ballot so a tie is a pretty rare event, however, in true 2020 weirdness, the MCFCA ended up not with one tie, but three. MCFCA board member Isaac Weeks had this to say about the interesting occurrence, “In a year where movie viewing became more of a solitary effort, it makes sense that there would be less of a consensus about awards among critics.”

Clint Redwine, president of the MCFCA added, “We are thrilled for all of our winners. In a year where we thought we may not see anything released after April, we ended up with a fantastic slate of award-winning films.”

You can follow the MCFCA on Facebook at and Twitter @mcfca615.

Best Picture: Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell – Director

Tom Ackerley, Ben Browning, Emerald Fennell, Ashley Fox, Josey McNamara, Margot Robbie – Producers

Best Director: Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Best Actor: Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Actress: Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor: Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Supporting Actress: Tie

Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari

Best Acting Ensemble: Tie

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

One Night In Miami

Best Animated Feature: Soul - Pete Doctor and Kemp Powers – Directors

Dana Murray, Jonas Rivera, Jessie Thiele Schroeder – Producers

Best Foreign Language Film: Another Round -Thomas Vinterberg – Director

Jessica Balac, Karen Bentzon, Kasper Dissing, Sisse Graum Jørgensen, Kristina Kornum – Producers

Best Documentary: The Social Dilemma - Jeff Orlowski – Director

Larissa Rhodes, Shawna Schultz – Producers

Best Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin - The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Song: “Speak Now” – Sam Ashworth, Leslie Odom, Jr.

One Night In Miami

Best Score: Ludwig Göransson – Tenet

Best Cinematography: Joshua James Richard - Nomadland

Best Editing: Tie      

Andy Canny - The Invisible Man

Alan Baumgarten - The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Production Design: Donald Graham Burt – Mank

The Jim Ridley Award: William Tyler – Composer – First Cow

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.