Franklin election candidates

Candidates in Tuesday's election are (from left) Ann Petersen, Mayor Ken Moore, Pearl Bransford, Brandy Blanton, Howard Garrett, Clyde Barnhill, Bhavani Muvvala and Michelle Sutton.

Though there was something of a push in numbers on the final day of early voting for the Franklin municipal election, total turnout ended up considerably low with only 3.4% of the 52,812 registered voters in the city casting a vote.

A total of 267 voters showed up on Thursday, the last day to vote early, making it the leading day for turnout in the early voting period that ran from Oct. 2-17. Early voting ended with a total of 1,774 ballots cast.

Turnout for the alderman at-large election ended up lower than early voting in the 2017 ward alderman election of 4.9%. However, it was higher than the 2.9% that voted in the last election for mayor and alderman at-large in 2015.

Tuesday is election day, with three of Franklin’s four at-large aldermen facing challengers. Ann Petersen is unopposed, as is Franklin Mayor Ken Moore in his bid for re-election.

Other incumbents are Brandy Blanton, who is being challenged by Michelle SuttonClyde Barnhill, who is facing Howard Garrett; and Pearl Bransford, who is running against Bhavani Muvvala.

Franklin’s city election will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at 13 precincts. Some locations have altered for this election, with more information found here.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.