The Kiwanis Club of Historic Downtown Franklin has named ten local high school students as recipients of a $1,000 scholarship to be used at the college of their choice.

The number of scholarships awarded increased from five to ten after the club received numerous applications from outstanding candidates.

“We were incredibly impressed with the outstanding students from our local high schools and found it extremely difficult to narrow it down to just five recipients” said Marta Eynatten, Club President. “The success of our sponsorship program with the Franklin Kiwanis Christmas Parade allowed us to increase the number to ten scholarships. We are hopeful the number of sponsors. Both individuals and businesses, will continue to increase so we are able to continue to increase the number of scholarships we are able to award in future years.”

To become a parade sponsor, contact a member of the Kiwanis Club of Historic Downtown Franklin, email or call 309-261-3500.

The recipients of the scholarships are Branyone Coleman, Khani Kelton, Grace Casella, Kayla Meyer, Jose Guevara Hernandez and Grace Owen from Franklin High School, Dean Peltier from Page High School, Natia Zawacki and Julian Watson from Centennial High School and Mary Maupin from Independence High School.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.