Though the final buzzer has sounded on the school year, county athletes got a rewarding overtime session at the annual WillCo Awards.

The festivities, held at The Factory at Franklin Thursday night, recognized the best and brightest athletes in Williamson County Schools. Finalists, family, friends and fans all gather to see whose names will be called to take in the cumulative prize for yearly athletic accomplishments.

In his opening speech, county athletic director Jeremy Qualls listed a number of notable county alumni who have gone on to compete at the next level. He then motioned to the athletes present.

“You, in this room tonight, will join those ranks,” he told the crowd of finalists. “Congratulations.”

Brentwood’s Skylar Coffey, a nationally-ranked wrestler and state gold medalist in track/field, and Page’s Faith Wilken, a Trevecca basketball signee, took home the Male and Female Athlete of the Year honors, respectively.

Brentwood’s powerhouse volleyball program, fresh off a sixth-straight state title, and Franklin’s basketball team, the school’s best boys hoops team in three decades, were named the Female and Male Teams of the Year for the county.

Lady Bruins volleyball coach Barbara Campbell was named Coach of the Year for Female Sports, while Franklin boys hoops leader Darrin Joines earned the same honor for Male Sports.

A standout moment came when Nolensville baseball player Drew Estes received the Courage Award from Dr. Matt Harris for the bravery shown his past battle with leukemia.

A video showed his journey and featured insight from Estes’ family, his teammates and his coach, Zach Hudson.

“I didn’t know that video was happening, but I’m glad they didn’t embarrass me too much,” Estes said with a smile after receiving the award. “It just meant a lot to see that happen, and it just means a lot to be here.”

Williamson County Schools Interim Superintendent Jason Golden arrived to present the coaches’ honors and shared his admiration for the event.

“When our board meets monthly, they have a code of ethics,” he told the crowd. “The very first line in that code of ethics includes these special words, ‘students first.’ And one of the things I love about this event is that we put students first.”

Golden also shared a bit of bittersweet news about the evening’s emcee Qualls; this would be his last WillCos, an event he founded, as the county’s AD.

It was announced that Qualls will soon be transitioning to a new position of leadership within the county’s school system.

“We want to give a special thank you to him tonight because after this fifth-annual event, he’s taking on a new responsibility with Williamson County Schools,” Golden said. “He’s going to become our career and tech director for our system-wide programs.

“And we wanted to make sure we didn’t leave tonight without a special thank you for his efforts. Thank you, Jeremy.”

Below is the full list of winners for the night. 

2019 WillCo Directors Cup Winners 

D1: Brentwood High School

D2: Nolensville High School

Female Athlete of the Year

Faith Wilken, Page

Male Athlete of the Year

Skylar Coffey, Brentwood

Female Team of the Year

Brentwood volleyball

Male Team of the Year

Franklin basketball

Female Sports Coach of the Year

Barbara Campbell, Brentwood volleyball

Male Sports Coach of the Year

Darrin Joines, Franklin

Media Student of the Year

Zach Gaspie, Page

Student Sections of the Year

D1: Indy Nation, Independence

D2: NHS Section, Nolensville

Softball Player of the Year

Kaitlyn Woodside, Summit

Baseball Player of the Year

Robert Hassell, Independence

Girls Soccer Player of the Year

Anna Augustini, Ravenwood

Boys Soccer Player of the Year

Sam Khomtchenko, Brentwood

Girls Track Player of the Year

Avery McMullen, Centennial

Boys Track Player of the Year

Jett Kinder, Brentwood

Girls Tennis Player of the Year

Georgia Fischer, Brentwood

Boys Tennis Player of the Year

Jack Pianta, Independence

Dancer of the Year

Molly Robinson, Brentwood

Cheerleader of the Year

Megan Zaves, Ravenwood

Girls Bowling

Emily Jackson, Centennial

Boys Bowling

Drake Austin, Brentwood

Girls Wrestling

Skylar Bixby, Independence

Boys Wrestling 

Skylar Coffey, Brentwood

Girls Basketball

Faith Wilken, Page

Boys Basketball

Reese Glover, Franklin

Football Player of the Year

T.J. Sheffield, Independence

Offensive Football Player of the Year

Brian Garcia, Ravenwood

Defensive Football Players of the Year

Bryan Rice, Ravenwood


Tori Carpenter, Brentwood

Girls Golf

Shelly Jang, Ravenwood

Boys Golf

Jack Morris, Franklin

Girls Cross Country

Sadie Cook, Independence

Boys Cross Country

Davis Bove, Centennial

WillCo Scholar Athlete 

Sara Sanders, Page

Maher Builders Sportsmanship Award ($5000 scholarship)

Madison Cunningham, Brentwood

Bone & Joint Institute of Tennessee Athletic Trainer of the Year

Brandi Mangrum, Independence

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.